The Theatre World Awards 2023: EVERYTHING You Need to Know!

Must read

Theater in NY is one of the most-coveted pastimes of entertainment. That’s why there are so many awards ceremonies dedicated to it—not just the Tonys!

Despite its name, the Theatre World Awards is an American honor. This ceremony dating back to the 1945-1956 season is presented annually to debut actors and actresses for their work on a New York City stage, be it on or off Broadway.

Fun Fact: The Theatre World Award is the oldest award for a debut theatre performance on or off Broadway. That makes this award so unique! It is only given to a debut performance with the hopes to encourage and inspire budding productions and performers to become as great as they can be.

Here’s what you need to know about the Theatre World Awards:

What are the Theatre World Awards, and How Do They Work?

In 1944, Theatre World Awards were founded to recognize “Promising Personalities,” otherwise known as debuting actors and actresses. What started as a small awards ceremony held in an apartment, the awards have since become much larger and more coveted.

Unlike other awards ceremonies with behemoth voting committees, the Theatre World Award winners are chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee with just 7 members.

Who gives awards for the Theatre World Awards?

The list has just 7 voters:

  1. David Cote – Time Out New York, NYC
  2. Joe Dziemianowicz – New York Daily News
  3. Peter Filichia – Newark Star-Ledger
  4. Harry Haun – Playbill
  5. Matthew Murray – Talkin’ Broadway
  6. Frank Scheck – The Hollywood Reporter
  7. Linda Winer – Newsday

When do the Theatre World Awards take place?

Like other awards, the Theater World Awards take place in two parts: the nomination announcement and the awards ceremony. Honorees are announced in the spring and then the awards ceremony are held in early June.

Where do the Theatre World Awards take place?

In 2023, the annual ceremony was held on June 5th at Circle in the Square Theatre.

How do I get tickets for the Theatre World Awards?

Unfortunately for members of the public, the 77th Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony is a private invitation-only event. For those invited, the awards ceremony is followed by a party to celebrate the new honorees.

Who Are the Honorees of the 2022-2023 Theatre World Awards?

Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance:

  • Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Topdog/Underdog
  • Hiran Abeysekera, Life of Pi
  • Amir Arison, The Kite Runner
  • D’Arcy Carden, The Thanksgiving Play
  • Jodie Comer, Prima Facie
  • Callum Francis, Kinky Boots
  • Lucy Freyer, The Wanderers
  • Caroline Innerbichler, Shucked
  • Ashley D. Kelley, Shucked
  • Casey Likes, Almost Famous
  • Emma Pfitzer Price, Becomes A Woman
  • John David Washington, The Piano Lesson

14th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in The Theater:

  • Julie Benko, Funny Girl

2023 Special Award Honorees:

  • Outstanding Swing: Marilyn Caserta, Six
  • Outstanding Contribution to The Theatre World: Dale Badway (Actor, Producer, and President of the Theatre World Awards Board of Directors)

More articles

Latest article